Sino-German Centre for Water And healTh researCH (WATCH)

The Sino-German Centre for Water and Health Research (WATCH) shall expand the existing cooperation between RWTH Aachen University and the corresponding universities in China in order to create a facility at Sichuan University in Chengdu known worldwide in water and health research. By integrating research, education and industry, the partners will guarantee that this facility shall be self sustainable for the long term. WATCH is characterized by broadly based multidisciplinary fundamental and application-oriented research, since four different faculties of the RWTH Aachen University (engineering, natural sciences, economics, and medicine) are involved.

WATCH aims to develop innovative solutions for upcoming environmental challenges in both countries. The organizational structure of WATCH shall ensure that its research work remains independent and that it shall be co-financed by participating private companies if required. There is a great potential for applying results in practice since the industry has been strongly integrated into the research structure. Moreover, the Chinese Ministry of Education (MoE) welcomes and financially supports cooperation of research and industry in the field of water and health. Indeed, there is a great opportunity for the German industry because China requires innovative technologies readily available in Germany.

Part of the visible research platform WATCH is the development of an office infrastructure, which supports the further and new development of joint research approaches for the application of third-party funding projects by relevant funding agencies. WATCH will become a regular institution with Chinese posts in the consolidation phase.

Activities

Date Topic
06.08.2020 Web-conference: Guidelines for technical performance test of small sewage treatment system
31.12.2019 WATCH Workshop in Aachen
10.12.2019 Workshop on Construction of Testing Platform and Certification System for Decentralized Sewage Treatment Equipment
01.10.2019 A Delegation from the Institute of Urban Environment, Chinese Academy of Sciences Visited RWTH Aachen University
31.05.2019 Sino-German Water Forum at the 15th Chengdu International Water Exhibition (CDWE) 2019
15.01.2019 Kick-off Workshop and Opening Ceremony of WATCH Joint Laboratory in Beijing
05.12.2018 Second Sino-German Steering Committee Workshop at the SCU in Chengdu and the YNU in Kunming
more

Chinesisch-Deutsches Zentrum für Wasser- und Gesundheitsforschung (WATCH)

Basierend auf der jahrzehntelangen bestehenden Zusammenarbeit zwischen der RWTH Aachen University und den kooperierenden chinesischen Universitäten soll an der Sichuan Universität in Chengdu eine gemeinsame weltweit sichtbare Forschungseinrichtung aufgebaut werden: das Chinesisch-deutsche Zentrum für Wasser und Gesundheitsforschung (WATCH). Vor dem Hintergrund einer Verstetigung von WATCH wird neben Bildung und Forschung auch die Wirtschaft integriert. WATCH ist sowohl auf Grundlagenforschung als auch auf anwendungsbezogene Forschung ausgerichtet. Vier beteiligte Fakultäten der RWTH Aachen (Ingenieur-, Natur-, Wirtschaftswissenschaften und Medizin) bieten eine breite wissenschaftliche Basis hierfür.

Das durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) geförderte Vorhaben WATCH zielt auf die Entwicklung innovativer Lösungen für die anstehenden Herausforderungen in beiden Ländern ab. Die Organisationsstruktur der Forschungspräsenz gewährleistet die Unabhängigkeit der Forschungsarbeit und gleichzeitig eine nachhaltige Co-Finanzierung durch dauerhafte Beteiligung von Firmen. Die Zusammenarbeit von Forschung und Wirtschaft in der Wasser- und Gesundheitsbranche wird auch durch das zuständige chinesische Bildungsministerium sehr begrüßt und gefördert. Anwendungspotenziale von Ergebnissen in der Praxis sind groß, da eine starke Beteiligung der Wirtschaft an WATCH vorhanden ist. Die große Nachfrage in China an innovativer Technologie und deren hohe Verfügbarkeit in Deutschland stellen eine große Chance für die deutsche Wirtschaft dar.

Bestandteil der sichtbaren Forschungspräsenz WATCH ist der Aufbau einer Büroinfrastruktur, die die Weiter- und Neuentwicklung gemeinsamer Forschungsansätze zur Beantragung von Drittmittelvorhaben bei relevanten Mittelgebern unterstützt. WATCH wird sich in der Konsolidierungsphase zu einer regulären Einrichtung mit Planstellen auf chinesischer Seite entwickeln

Aktivitäten

Datum Betreff
06.08.2020 Webkonferenz: Leitlinien für die technische Leistungsprüfung von dezentralen Kläranlagen
31.12.2019 WATCH Workshop in Aachen
10.12.2019 Workshop zum Aufbau einer Prüfplattform und eines Zertifizierungssystems für dezentrale Kläranlagen
01.10.2019 Eine Delegation des Instituts für staedtische Umwelt der Chinesischen Akademie der Wissenschaften besuchte die RWTH Aachen University
31.05.2019 Chinesisch-Deutsches Wasserforum auf dem 15th Chengdu International Water Exhibition (CDWE) 2019
15.01.2019 Auftaktworkshop und Eröffnungszeremonie des WATCH Joint Laboratory in Beijing
05.12.2018 Zweiter chinesisch-deutscher Lenkungsausschuss Workshop an der SCU in Chengdu und der YNU in Kunming
weiter